CTU People

Printer-friendly version

For a full list of CTU staff and contact details, click here 

Richard Wagstaff


Richard Wagstaff was elected CTU in 2015. He was previously Vice President and one of two national secretaries of the Public Service Association.

He began working at the union in 1988 as a researcher. He became an organiser three years later, working with PSA members in the health and disability sectors in Auckland. In 1997 he was appointed operations manager, responsible for PSA members throughout the country in the health and community sectors.  He took up his current position as a national secretary of the PSA in 2000.

Sam HuggardSam Huggard


Sam was elected CTU Secretary in October 2014.  He has over 15 years experience in trade unions, the community sector and students' associations. He has spent the past 6 years in a campaigns position at FIRST Union and worked at the CTU in communications prior to that.

He has led national organisations before, as Co-President of the New Zealand University Students' Association in 2000 and 2001 and more recently as the National Convenor of Campaign for MMP in 2010 and 2011. He was manager of Volunteering Otago from 2003 to 2005, and lectured part-time on Unitec's Graduate Diploma in Not-For-Profit Management from 2008 until 2013.

Sam has previously been a Director on the New Zealand Universities Academic Audit Unit board, Vice Chair of Volunteering New Zealand,

Chair of the Lottery Youth Christchurch Regional Committee, Director of 95bFM, Trustee for Kotare Trust and a Consumer Representative on the Insurance & Savings Ombudsman Commission.

Sam was raised in Auckland and his family roots are in Wellington, Otago and Southland.

Syd KeepaSyd Keepa, Vice President Maori

Vice President Maori

Syd Keepa was elected Vice President Maori in October 2010. He has tribal affiliations with Ngati Awa, Ngati Maru, and Ngai Tuhoe and a long history of active involvement in the union movement.

Syd has worked in forestry, and the pulp and paper sector and also as a truck driver. He has been a member of the Timber Workers Union, Northern Drivers Union, Pulp and Paper Workers Union and the Wood Industries Union. He was a delegate with the Northern Drivers Union (1979) and the Pulp & Paper Workers Union (1982) and went on to become Branch President of the Pulp & Paper Workers Union. When the Timber Workers Union and the Pulp & Paper Workers Union amalgamated it became the Wood Industries Union. Syd was Auckland Branch President for the Wood Industries Union, then National President of the Wood Industries Union.

He commenced working with the National Distribution Union in 1999 as Apiha Maori and Wood Sector Organiser in Auckland. 

Bill RosenbergBill Rosenberg, CTU Director of Policy

Economist and Director of Policy

Bill Rosenberg was appointed Economist and Director of Policy at the CTU in May 2009. He holds a B.Com in Economics, a BSc in Mathematics and a PhD in Mathematical Psychology. Bill was previously Deputy Director, University Centre for Teaching and Learning at the University of Canterbury, a Member of the Institute of Directors, a Commissioner on TEC, and was a member of the Regional Land Transport Committee of Environment Canterbury.

Bill Rosenberg is widely published on globalisation, trade and e-learning and has been an active trade unionist for 30 years including the Tramways Union and Association of University Staff where he was National President for several years.